Reflections on the 50th Anniversary of Star Trek: What it Taught me about Respect for all Life Forms

I wrote this in 2016…just happened to see this episode the other night on BBC America. What an amazing message.

Mercy for all Animals

Spock and the Horta Spock mind-melding with the Horta

I’m not exactly a Trekkie, because I don’t go to conventions or argue over the nuances of Vulcan culture (lol) but I loved and was deeply influenced by this beloved show (I’m particularly talking about the original series and the movies with the original cast members, although Chris Pine as Captain Kirk is worth watching. Frequently.). 😀

It’s the 50th anniversary of the series that broke new ground and was far ahead of it’s time (no pun intended).

Star Trek crushed stereotypes, envisioning mankind as having evolved not just technologically, but emotionally, intellectually, and, perhaps most importantly, philosophically.

Despite the somewhat overblown acting of one of the cast members (I would use my 9-year-old -and may I add ridiculously high-pitched- voice at the time to do a Captain Kirk impression to crack my sister up constantly), the show was one of a kind and absolutely…

View original post 442 more words

Posted on February 19, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

