“Emotional Manipulation”

Woman with calf

Is this photo of kindness to a “food” animal manipulative?

Human beings are a strange lot, and we often will strike out against the messenger who has news we don’t want to hear by– what else?–shooting her.

I was once told by a family member that I was “emotionally manipulative” due to my posts that defend animals and encourage people to think about what they’re supporting when they buy animal products.

I’m as imperfect as anyone else, of course, but this accusation rang distinctly untrue.

First, let’s look at the definition of “emotional (or psychological) manipulation”.

From psychologytoday.com:

“Psychological manipulation can be defined as the exercise of undue influence through mental distortion and emotional exploitation, with the intention to seize power, control, benefits and/or privileges at the victim’s expense.”

I have no intention to seize power, control, benefits and /or privileges at anyone’s expense, or for that matter not at anyone’s expense, and speaking out for animals gives me no power, control, benefits and/or privileges. In fact, it makes life much harder in that it sets me apart from most people and has a great tendency to result in insults and ridicule.

I’ve often said that if I could have chosen not to be an animal advocate, I would have done so long ago, but the cruelty that animals face at the hands of man is so horrendous that I feel I have no choice but to speak out on their behalf, no matter the consequences to me personally. 

Secondly, an emotional manipulator manipulates facts to confuse their victims. I only present the facts as I know them and ask others to do their own research.

I present videos and links to reputable sources to provide the truth of animal exploitation and abuse.

It’s hardly a secret, especially with undercover videos all over the internet, that animals are mistreated and killed in the most appalling ways imaginable.

Am I encouraging people to feel something for the animals who suffer and die for our plates?

Of course I am–I’m seeking to reach hearts as well as minds in order to help people get in touch with their compassion for animals.

But that is very different from manipulating others.

And if presenting the facts of animal cruelty and slaughter and asking for people to have mercy is considered manipulative, then I wonder what my relative thinks about the advertising and lobbying that the meat and dairy industries use to make profits at the expense of animals, the environment, and human health– and most certainly for their own benefit (BIG profits)?

These huge industries constantly bombard the airwaves with ads promoting the use of animals as if it was all very normal to treat other sentient beings as if they were nothing more than slabs of meat or pints of milk to be consumed, because there is never any truth expressed about how those products got to your favorite restaurant or store.

If ever there was manipulation, it’s the meat and diary industries who are guilty as charged, because they make the general public think of their products as normal, necessary and natural.

The industries that profit from animal exploitation want very much for their customers to never think of the harm done to animals in their name and they go to great lengths to make people feel good about consuming their products.

What’s actually normal, at least for most people, is to have compassion for animals.

What’s necessary is food that provides us with healthy nourishment, and we don’t need animal products for that; in fact they often are unhealthy.

What’s natural is to want to avoid causing animals pain, suffering and death.

I avoid showing photos or videos of animal abuse/slaughter, and try to limit images to animals being treated kindly.

I hold back on the images that show what goes on behind closed doors, knowing that  most people can’t stand to see animal suffering.

Imagine what an “emotional manipulator” I’d be accused of being if I actually showed the horrors our animal friends endure.

Please take a moment to check out the videos and links I’ve provided here at my website and come to your own conclusions.

Posted on November 23, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

