46 Million

turkey-cuddling

Can you imagine if I was talking about 46 million cats or dogs being mercilessly slaughtered and eaten, all for a “tradition”?

Every year at Thanksgiving I eat alone, and I choose to do so, despite the offers of friends and family to join them.

I do it to not only avoid seeing the dead turkey on the table, I do it to mourn the millions of turkeys who died horrible, violent deaths, all for the sake of a “holiday”.

If I could I’d scoop them all up in my arms and rescue them from the cruelty and just plain indifference of man.

Why do we not care?

How can we ignore their suffering?

What is so important about killing a living, breathing animal who had a strong will to live and an affectionate and gentle nature?

My thoughts and prayers are with the poor creatures who suffered and died for no valid reason at all.

I give thanks that the message of a “gentle” Thanksgiving–one without suffering or death–is finally being heard.

But not soon enough for the 46 million.

Rarely do I show images of suffering, but this day I will, and I hope that these photos will touch someone’s heart.

With thanks to my friend and fellow advocate, Dana Gale, for the photo.

turkey-killings

 

Posted on November 23, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Needless to say I share in your pain and ask the questions, how can so many civilized and supposedly compassionate persons, not give a damn to what is happening? Today, we remember the millions of turkeys who had their lives stolen from them but millions of other farm animals suffer every minute, every hour, every day, every week, every month of every year. We need to find our compassion and realize the level of suffering we are/have been contributing to. It is an abomination. Love your posts. Thank you so much for your dedication to advocacy and awareness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Needless to say I share in your pain and ask the question, how can so many civilized and supposedly compassionate persons, not give a damn to what is happening?!! Today, we remember the millions of turkeys who had their lives stolen from them but millions of other farm animals suffer every minute, every hour, every day, every week, every month of every year. We need to find our compassion and realize the level of suffering we are/have been contributing to. It is an abomination. Love your posts. Thank you so much for your dedication to advocacy and awareness.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you veg4life! I agree completely, of course, and I thank you as well for your dedication to advocacy and awareness! Thank you so much for reblogging my post–I’m truly honored. XXXOOO

    Like

Leave a Reply

