In Praise of Support & Encouragement Rather than Shaming

questioning-people

I’m absolutely down with all the people who’ve gone vegan and who are heartsick, angry, depressed, and sick to death of a world of business as usual when it comes to animal cruelty and slaughter.

I get it.

I’ve been furious, I’ve cried myself to sleep, I’ve been beside myself pretty much all my life as I’ve observed how animals who aren’t considered our pets are treated, all unnecessary cruelty inflicted on the innocent.

But if there’s one thing I know, it’s that although sometimes people do need to hear and see the harsh truth, there’s no place in my advocacy for personally shaming and attacking people.

Many people are just now opening their eyes to what goes on behind closed doors and asking questions, trying out vegan meals, reading blogs and watching documentaries, and asking themselves if they can continue to support animal cruelty and death with their dollars.

Although it’s fantastic to hear when a person becomes vegan literally overnight, that’s probably not the norm (it wasn’t in my life and it isn’t in the lives of most of the vegans I know).

Do I think people should automatically become vegan when they face the truth?

I’d be disingenuous if I said no.

Does that mean people should be shamed if they don’t but are starting to eliminate animal products slowly but surely?

Nope.

People who are trying to make changes and wrap their minds and hearts around a new way of life are to be encouraged and supported, in my opinion.

If they’ve been listening, inquiring and curious about veganism, that’s fantastic!

They’re overcoming a huge hurdle in this world–a world that largely has no patience for those of us who are working to end all animal cruelty, a culture that thrives on the exploitation of animals.

It’s a big step to question this age-old paradigm.

It takes courage to face the truth most people are adamantly avoiding.

Let’s lift people up who are being open-minded and starting to embrace the way of compassion and mercy towards animals, and let’s show them compassion ourselves.

Let’s treat them as we would want to be treated. 🙂

P.S. I’m very glad to know so many advocates who are doing just that.

Posted on September 17, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

