A Beautiful Story

Chicken with Gina MatthewsThis is the brief story of one woman’s love for an elderly chicken and her thoughts on these birds we so casually destroy.

“This sweet, beautiful little angel died peacefully in my arms this morning. She lived a good, long life, never having seen the bars of a cage. She was not sick, just very old.

I met her while taking care of a neighbours farm while they were away. She seemed a bit slower than the others, so out of concern, I brought her home with me. She really enjoyed the snuggles and the gentle face rubs, as well as the fresh apple crumbles I cut up for her. 

She died peacefully in my arms this morning, after spending the night in a soft bed beside mine.

Chickens are such sweet and beautiful creatures, I really wish everyone in the world could see them the way I do. I know that many do, and I want you all to know that she knew love before she went to the rainbow bridge.

I only knew her for a short time, but that time was well spent. Rest peacefully, sweet baby. I love you ♥”

~Gina Matthews

My heart would burst with joy if all people suddenly realized that they have the power to love or the power to destroy an innocent animal–and they chose love like Gina did.

Posted on August 18, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

