It’s Not About Changing People

calf snuggles man

I learned a long time ago that you can’t change anyone but yourself, and that is a truth that most of us come to face eventually.

The message of veganism has been attacked by some as a message that tries to force people to change, and while it may seem that way, no one can force another to feel something they don’t feel or to change internally.

No one likes to feel forced to act or think a certain way, and I get that.

It’s simply not possible to force anyone to change, no matter how noble the cause that’s being fought.

What veganism does try to do is simply to expose the cruelty that exists with regards to how man treats the animals he uses for food, fur, research and entertainment.

I realize that I have no power over anyone else and my work on behalf of animals is simply to touch the place inside most people that is merciful.

I’ve seen so many people with good hearts who either don’t know the horrors we inflict on other sentient beings, or aren’t ready to face it.

So the message has to be put out there in order for people to begin to decide for themselves whether something is worthy of their support or not.

There is a constant bombardment of images and ads depicting how normal and natural it is for people to use animals, and the societal pressures to do what most others are doing is very, very strong.

I can’t compete with McDonald’s or Burger King’s ads, and I know that.

All I can do is offer a voice that tries to speak for the animals, to see it from their point of view, to offer an insight into what is done to them against their will, but hidden carefully from view.

The suffering and death is not talked about and it should be, because most humans are not cruel and that’s one reason most aren’t ready to face the terrible truth.

Although I realize there are cruel people in the world, I don’t personally know anyone who will deliberately run over an animal in the road, watch someone beat a dog without intervening or celebrate the suffering of another creature.

No, it’s not about changing people, it’s about calling forth what’s already in them: mercy for other creatures.

 

Posted on June 7, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on These Glass Walls and commented:
    I’ve just discovered a blog by fellow writer and sympatico advocate Barbara LaRue. I particularly like this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much, Debra, for your support! I deeply appreciate your sharing this on your own excellent blog. 🙂

    Like

  3. Very well said, Barbara and thanks to Debra for sharing your post with us.
    In the long run, I think it’s opening people’s eyes to the value in NOT using animals for food, makeup, clothing, etc. that’s going to help. Appealing to others from a perspective of our shared ideals as humans (e.g. mercy), or through education (e.g. the environmental cost of raising animals for those purposes, or even providing very real alternatives to the use of animals) — it’s bound to be better than only hitting people over the head. Mind you, hitting us over the head should not be ruled out completely. It has it uses sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Cynthia! I agree. There are occasions where we have to be particularly strong in our stance–I’ve lost some friends because of it–but that’s to be expected. When a longtime former friend demanded I respect her decision to eat meat, I said, “I’m sorry, I do not respect that decision and am not going to lie to you since you’re asking me.” This did not go over well with her, but I was not willing to pretend or to lie. I’m sure she felt I was hitting her over the head, and perhaps from her perspective, I was, but I don’t regret it and have accepted the loss of the friendship.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

