What the Aloha Spirit Truly Means

Hawaiin sunset.jpg

In creating a travel flyer for one of my graphic arts courses I chose my favorite place on the planet, Hawaii.

Suddenly I found myself transported back in my mind to that enchanting place, back many years ago when I visited the gorgeous islands.

I remember feeling a sense of peace, a feeling of indescribable joy and well-being, a true inner calm while I was there, in large part of course because of the soft, warm, caressing breezes, the crystal clear aquamarine waters, the stunning visual beauty of the islands.

But there was something more, something indefinable, a spirit that seemed to envelop the islands with a gentle and happy peace.

I write this blog to try to bring awareness to animal suffering, and when I read the true meaning behind the “aloha spirit”, I realized I needed to share it here, as it captured the essence of compassion and connectedness.

I found this definition at huna.org:

Aloha is being a part of all, and all being a part of me. When there is pain – it is my pain. When there is joy – it is also mine. I respect all that is as part of the Creator and part of me. I will not willfully harm anyone or anything. When food is needed I will take only my need and explain why it is being taken. The earth, the sky, the sea are mine to care for, to cherish and to protect. This is Hawaiian – this is Aloha!

Although the people  of Hawaii aren’t all vegan, of course, I see within the wisdom of the Aloha spirit the very foundation of what it means to follow the path of mercy toward all and a true understanding of taking only our need, which eliminates the necessity for animal exploitation of any kind, since we can live healthy and happy lives without it.

No wonder I fell so deeply in love with Hawaii and long to return one day.

Aloha!

Posted on January 29, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

